In Kentucky, a declaration of invalidity, otherwise known as an annulment, is only permitted in very specific instances. And, due to the strict requirements necessary to apply for an annulment, a divorce, or dissolution of marriage, is more often the correct approach. However, if you are one of the few individuals seeking an annulment, here is what you need to know.
In order to successfully receive a decree from the court of a declaration of invalidity to your marriage, you must prove that:
Under KRS 403.120, if one party lacked capacity (as described above in #1, #2, or #3), an annulment must be applied for no later than 90 days after the party seeking the annulment obtained knowledge of the described condition. If the parties find that the marriage is prohibited, then either party can seek an annulment no later than one year after the petitioner obtained knowledge that the marriage was prohibited.
Force or duress requires the petitioner to show that their consent to marry was influenced by fear from threats and that their will was overcome by these threats. If you are threatened to marry but otherwise not influenced by these threats, then force or duress would not apply.
There are three categories of prohibited marriages in Kentucky. First, incestuous marriages. An incestuous marriage is a marriage to a family member closer than second cousins. This means that marriages between siblings, in-laws, nieces or nephews, or first cousins are all examples of incestuous marriages.
The second category of prohibited marriages are known as "other" marriages, which include:
While the second category of prohibited marriages, KRS 402.020, was updated in 2018, it is important to note that the law includes same-sex marriages as prohibited marriages. However, this is no longer the case.
The third category of prohibited marriages are marriages obtained by force or duress, or fraud.
Under KRS 402.210, if either of the parties is 17 years of age, a marriage license must not be issued unless the party who is 17 years of age presents to the clerk a copy of a court order that grants the party permission to marry and removed the party's disability of minority (see KRS 402.205), AND at least 15 days have elapsed since the court order was granted.
In order for an individual, 17 years of age, to seek the courts permission to marry, that individual must petition the court with an affidavit attesting to the consent to marry signed by:
Additionally, the petition must include a statement of reasons why the petitioner desires to marry and how long the parties have known each other, evidence of the petitioner's maturity (stable housing, employment, education, etc.), a copy of any criminal records of either party, and copies of any domestic violence orders or interpersonal protective orders involving either party to be married.
After an evidentiary hearing, the court must grant the Petitioner's petition to marry unless:
We answer questions daily! Simply subscribe and comment on one of the videos and we might choose your question to be answered in our next video! Click the link below!